

## SHIRE OF NORTHAMPTON MINUTES

## Community Grants Advisory Committee held in the Allen Centre, Kalbarri 2:05pm 15 February 2024

# 1. **DECLARATION OF OPENING OF MEETING BY SHIRE PRESIDENT**Shire President Liz Sudlow declared the meeting open at 2.05pm

#### 2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Cr Sudlow read the following statement:

"We would like to respectfully acknowledge the Yamatji People who are the Traditional Owners and First People of the land on which we meet. We would like to pay our respects to the Elders past, present and future for they hold the memories, the traditions, the culture and hopes of the Yamatji People."

#### 3. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

Shire President nominated and was accepted the role of Chairperson unopposed.

#### 4. ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES

#### Members

Cr Liz Sudlow – Shire President
Cr Rob Horstman – Deputy Shire President
Cr Des Pike
Andrew Campbell

#### **Apologies**

Cr Trevor Gibb

#### Observers

Cr Richard Burges Cr Roslyn Suckling Cr Tim Hay Grant Middleton Michelle Allen

### 5. DECLARATIONS OF FINANCIAL INTERESTS

NII.

### 6. GENERAL DISCUSSION AS TO APPROACH (FIRST MEETING)

A general discussion about the potential structure of how the Community Grants Advisory could operate.

Andrew Campbell suggested that the normal community grant Shire budget commitment of approximately \$100,000p.a. would be the starting point with approaches to corporates to supplement the funding pool. This may include existing and future garnet miners, BASF, CBH, Northern Agriculture Group and future hydrogen/renewable energy providers. Suggestion that two funding rounds per year, one major and one minor with additional funding rounds if additional revenue became available. It was agreed by consensus that Andrew Campbell would draft a process for consideration at the next meeting.

The membership of the Committee was also discussed with Cr Richard Burges and Cr Roslyn Suckling expressing an interest in joining.

### **Moved: Andrew Campbell**

**Seconded Cr Rob Horstman** 

"That Councillors Roslyn Suckling and Richard Burgess are recommended to be appointed to the Community Grants Advisory Committee."

Carried 4-0

For: Cr's Sudlow, Horstman, Pike and Mr Campbell Against: Nil

### 7. DATE FOR NEXT MEETING

23 April 2024 at 1pm in the Council Chamber, Northampton.

### 8. CLOSURE

There being no further business the Chairperson closed the meeting at 2.33pm.

Members: Councillors L Sudlow, R Horstman, D Pike, T Gibb and CEO A Campbell