

#### SHIRE OF NORTHAMPTON

Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> October 2021 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

#### 10.1 PRESENT

Cr S Krakouer Kalbarri Ward Cr E Sudlow Northampton Ward Cr D Pike Kalbarri Ward Cr- elect P Stewart Kalbarri Ward Cr R Suckling Northampton Ward Cr Elect S Stock-Standen Northampton Ward Cr Elect R Horstman Northampton Ward Chief Executive Officer Mr G L Keeffe

## 10.2 APOLOGIES

Cr Elect T Gibb Kalbarri Ward

## 10.3 OPENING OF MEETING

The CEO, Mr Garry Keeffe declared the meeting open at 9:30 am.

## 10.4 QUESTION TIME

There were no members of the public present therefore no questions were raised.

## 10.5 SWEARING IN OF COUNCILLORS

Councillor Stock-Standen took the Affirmation of Allegiance read and signed the declaration to the Office of Councillor.

Councillor Stewart took the Oath of Affirmation, read and signed the declaration to the Office of Councillor.

Councillor Horstman took the Affirmation of Allegiance read and signed the declaration to the Office of Councillor.

#### 10.6 ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Shire President.

Two nominations were received being Cr's Krakouer and Sudlow. As a result a secret ballot was conducted. Result of the secret ballot was:

Cr Krakouer 3 votes
Cr Sudlow 4 votes

Therefore Cr Sudlow was elected to the office of Shire President.



#### SHIRE OF NORTHAMPTON

Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> October 2021 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

Cr Sudlow read aloud and signed the declaration to the Office of Shire President.

Cr Sudlow thanked Councillors for their confidence in electing her to the office of President.

## 10.7 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

Cr Sudlow took the chair and called for nominations for the position of Deputy Shire President.

CEO advised that two nomination have been received from Cr's Horstman and Stewart for the office of Deputy Shire President.

As a result an election by secret ballot was undertaken. Result of the secret ballot was:

Cr Horstman 4 votes
Cr Stewart 3 votes

Cr Horstman read aloud and signed the declaration to the Office of Deputy Shire President.

## 10.8 ELECTION OF COMMITTEE'S

Moved Cr Stewart, seconded Cr Suckling

That the below Councillors be appointed to their respective Committees for a two year term:

#### **Audit Committee**

Cr's Sudlow, Stock-Standen, Suckling & Stewart

## **Disability Services Committee**

Cr's Stewart, Suckling & EHO/BS

## Senior Staff Employment Performance Review Committee

Cr's Sudlow, Horstman, Stewart, Suckling & CEO

CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY 7/0



Cr Stock-Standen

#### SHIRE OF NORTHAMPTON

Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> October 2021 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

# 10.9 **ELECTION OF DELEGATES** Moved Cr Stewart, seconded Cr Suckling That the below Councillors be appointed to delegates of the respective organisation for a twoyear term; **Northampton Visitors Centre** Cr Suckling Kalbarri Development Association – (includes Kalbarri Foreshore Re Development Plan) Cr Pike Kalbarri Visitors Centre Cr Stewart Kalbarri Sport & Recreation Club Cr Pike Kalbarri Roadwise Committee Cr Pike Coastal Sub Group of the Regional Road Group Cr's Sudlow, Horstman & CEO **Batavia Local Emergency Management Committee** Cr Horstman and Deputy CEO **Development Assessment Panel** Cr Pike **Drought Resilience Planning Group** Cr Sudlow **Northampton Community Centre**

CARRIED 7/0



**CLOSURE** 

10.10

## SHIRE OF NORTHAMPTON

Minutes of a Special Meeting of Council held at the Northampton Council Chambers, Northampton, on Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> October 2021 for the purpose of swearing in of Councillors and the Election of the President, Deputy President, Committees and Delegates.

There being no further business for discussion, the President thanked those members present for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 9.56am.
THESE MINUTES CONSISTING OF PAGES 1 TO 3 WERE CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT
RECORD ON FRIDAY 19 NOVEMBER 2021.
PRESIDING MEMBER:
DATE: